The Underground Librarian

What cats do before meeting curiosity sellers….

Black Bean Corn Bread

Posted by N. A. Jones on August 23, 2010

A former co-worker from a library gave me the original recipe. It is stashed away in the pages of one of my many journals. What follows is the best I could come close to from memory for dinner today. Please enjoy and relax, this is easy.

1 Tablespoon Mexican Chili Powder

2 Teaspoons Cumin ( I forgot to add it in today, but take you drouthers to add in spice and flavor)

1 cup Cheddar Cheese ( I found what I could which was a blend of colby, cheddar and monterrey jack)

1/2 cup finely chopped onion

1 ear of fresh corn ( scrape the kernels off of a rinse ear and set aside)

1/2 – 1 cup of black beans ( one can should work drained of liquid)

3-4 cloves of garlic finely chopped

1-2 pounds of ground beef  cooked retain liquids( I used left over from hamburgers prepped with one egg and a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce)

1 box of Jiffy corn bread mix

1 egg

1/3 cup of milk

9 by 9 inch pan

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Mix all ingredients into one bowl.

Place the dough into the pan and bake for 15-20 minutes.

Cornbread will have the consistency of pudding.

Serve with tomato and lettuce salad. Sweetened Ice Tea as well.

I’ll post the recipe from my coworker when I find it. It is delicious as well.

~Pastied Pastry Chef

3 Responses to “Black Bean Corn Bread”

  1. Hola! I’ve been reading your site for some time now and finally got the courage
    to go ahead and give you a shout out from
    Lubbock Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the good job!

  2. This is a great tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere. Short but very accurate information… Many thanks for sharing this one. A must read article!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.